Simple Ways I Save Money That You Can Do Too

Save Money When You Eat Out

It probably doesn’t surprise anyone reading this that I don’t eat out very often.  When I do though, I like to make the most of it.  Today I went out to lunch with a friend who happened to be in town for the day.  I realized when I was ordering that I could get a salad with my meal for just over $1 additional cost.  So when I ordered, I asked for the salad in a to-go container.  Tonight, that was my yummy bargain dinner.

salad

A few ways I save money when I do eat out:

  • Order an appetizer – it’s less expensive than an entree and typically plenty of food
  • Share a large entree – automatic half price for each of you
  • Drink water – it’s free while soda costs $2 or more
  • Check the internet for coupons – the restaurant’s Facebook page is a great place to check
  • Order the with meal salad and take it home – just like I did today!
  • Put half of your meal in a to-go box before you start eating –  this is also an excellent tip to avoid overeating and gaining weight

My cheapskate reason for not eating out is clear – it’s expensive!  When you do eat out, think of it as a treat but remember you can still go easy on the wallet with the tips above.

Comments on: "Save Money When You Eat Out" (2)

  1. For the next few Sundays the McDonald’s in Vinton has 0.49 Hamburgers with a limit of 10 per order. I don’t know how long it will last, but they said at least for the next few Sundays.

Your thoughts?